ILNAS Presents Its New Sectoral Standards Analysis For The ICT Sector During Cybersecurity Week 2021

ILNAS has released its new Sectoral Standards Analysis (Analyse Normative Sectorielle, or ANS) for the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector. The document provides an overview of the active standardization technical committees within 16 ICT “sub-sectors”, allowing Luxembourg market players to quickly identify the most relevant standardization work for their business.

The ICT ANS is a tool for national ICT stakeholders to consider technical standardization in their business development strategy. On the one hand, ILNAS encourages them to become actively involved in technical committees corresponding to their field of expertise, in order to anticipate and influence standards development. On the other hand, they are invited to take advantage of ILNAS and ANEC GIE‘s products and services in technical standardization. In particular, ILNAS offers registration in committees of ISO, IEC, CEN and CENELEC free-of-charge.

While the last few versions of the ANS focused on the “Smart Secure ICT” domain, this 2021 edition has been expanded to cover the entire ICT sector, offering an overview of the activity of 68 technical committees divided into 16 “sub-sectors” (e.g. Cloud Computing, Software and Programming Languages, Artificial Intelligence and Big Data, Education and Digital Skills, Fintech, Telecommunications and Networking, etc.).
After an initial introductory chapter, the document is structured as follows:

  • Chapter 2 describes the objectives of technical standardization, presents the recognized standardization organizations at the international and European levels, and then provides an overview of the activities carried out at the national level by ILNAS and ANEC GIE ;
  • Chapter 3 provides some economic context and an introduction to the ICT ecosystem at the national level, before discussing the sub-sectors identified in the document to include the technical standardization committees;
  • Chapter 4 lists the standards committees by sub-sector, presenting each of them via an “identity card” that indicates, among other things, their field of work, their structure, and the extent of relevant involvement within Luxembourg;
  • Chapter 5 details the opportunities available to the market through ILNAS and ANEC GIE. It mentions, for instance, the possibility to get involved in standards technical committees and available options to consult standards;
  • Finally, Chapter 6 concludes the document by inviting national economic actors to actively participate in the technical committees highlighted in this new ICT ANS, in order to represent Luxembourg’s interests in international standardization organizations.

This document was presented during the “Standardization and Cybersecurity” breakfast held on October 22nd, 2021 as a part of “Cybersecurity Week”, where ILNAS also announced the creation of a new National Standardization Committee “Cybersecurity”.
Video here

ILNAS and ANEC GIE remain at the market actors’ disposition to accompany them in their standardization endeavors. For any questions or requests related to technical standardization in ICT, we can be contacted at the following e-mail address: [email protected].

For more information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts